Winners Named in the 2019 Moriarity First-Year Moot Court Competition

March 28, 2019 | On Wednesday, March 27, Kelton Murphy and Samuel Sahagian, arguing on behalf of the Defendant-Appellant, and Mariana Orbay and Karin Lang, arguing on behalf of the Plaintiff-Appellee, competed in the final round of the Col. John L. & Maria Moriarity First-Year Moot Court Competition.

The distinguished bench of California Court of Appeals Justices Helen Bendix, Tricia Bigelow (JD ’86), and Elizabeth Grimes presided over the final round bench.

After deliberation by the the bench, Kelton and Samuel were named the winners.

Pepperdine Law’s moot court competition is named for School of Law supporters Col. John and the late Maria Moriarity. The first place team members each receive a $500 award, and the second place team members each received a $250 award. Congratulations to this year’s finalists and winning team!